Skip to content

By Eli K.P. William

“Cash Crash Jubilee is a stunning debut novel, a glorious and disturbing view of a strange new world that could easily become our new world. Eli K. P. William has created a dazzling piece of fiction, a frenetic and fully-realized society in which every single action, from breathing to sex, is a financial transaction, and the worse crime of all is to become bankrupt. Fans of Neal Stephenson and William Gibson will find much to enjoy in Cash Crash Jubilee.”
-Wayne Arthurson, author of Fall From Grace and A Killing Winter


 

William_Crash Crash Jubilee

In a near-future Tokyo, every action—from blinking to sexual intercourse—is intellectual property owned by corporations that charge licensing fees. This post-cyberpunk world combines the digital and sensory perceptions to create a dystopian tale unlike any other.

Amon Kenzaki is a Liquidator for GATA (Global Action Transaction Authority) whose job is to capture bankrupt citizens, remove the implant (BodyBank) that allows them to participate in the action-transaction economy, and banish them to “bankdeath camps.” Amon always plays by the rules and is steadily climbing the company ladder. But when he’s asked to cash crash charismatic politician and model citizen Lawrence Barrow, he begins to ask dangerous questions about the system he’s devoted his life to.

Cash Crash Jubilee, the debut novel by Eli K. P. William, shows the depths of science fiction and how, in a world run by corporations, one man will do everything in his power to stand up for what’s right.


“Cash Crash Jubilee is a roller-coaster ride of action and political speculation, all set against a vivid urban backdrop lit by total corporate domination of human life. Writing in the tradition of Dick and Gibson, Eli K. P. William leverages the details of near-future dystopian Tokyo to superb critical effect. A terrific debut!”
-Mark Kingwell, author of Concrete Reveries and The World We Want

“Cash Crash Jubilee combines 1984’s brutal totalitarianism and Brave New Worlds’s seductive consumerism. Eli K. P. William’s world is more alien than almost any other imagined future, yet it has no alien beings, monsters, androids, or vengeful gods: just people. Its premise is both horrifying and ridiculous. Is it a satire or a thriller? It works brilliantly as either.”
-John Love, author of Faith and Evensong

“Cyberpunk’s not dead, as Eli K. P. Williams makes abundantly clear with Cash, Crash, Jubilee. Fans of Philip K. Dick, Satoshi Kon, Franz Kafka, Kobo Abe, and Project Itoh will all find a lot to love here, but what makes it so intriguing is that the novel is fundamentally its own beast, a one-way bullet train into a bizarre but chillingly plausible future. A brilliant debut brimming with exciting set-pieces and wry wit.”
-Jesse Bullington, author of The Sad Tale of the Brothers Grossbartand The Folly of the World

“Eli K. P. Williams’ book is prophetic and chilling in the best of ways, darkly sardonic yet filled with compassion for those unfortunate souls unable to escape (or flinging themselves toward?) capital’s insidious reach—which is to say, for all of us.”
-Gordon Dahlquist, author of The Glass Books of the Dream Eaters

“…Eli K.P. William builds an intricate world based on these same horrors, and in doing so, creates the defining dystopia for our time.”
B&N Book Blog

“Williams displays a creative flair in his treatment of a dystopian future Japan that’s as entertaining as the works by American Canadian science fiction giant William Gibson.”
-The Japan Times

“William’s writing is dense and smart and convincing. Cash Crash Jubilee is the first book in a trilogy that promises to be a notable contribution to a long and distinguished tradition.”
-Japan finance guru Peter Tasker

“Fans of William Gibson and Philip K. Dick will have a blast with Cash Crash Jubilee”
-Books Bones & Buffy

“…highly readable, entertaining… This is a page-turner that is more of a mystery than science fiction.”
-The Japan News


SF Signal Interview

The Qwillery Interview

The Big Thrill Interview

Buzzfeed’s 30 Science Fiction, Fantasy And Horror Books To Pick Up In May 2015


Publisher:

Talos, world, May 2015

Varlagsgruppe Random House, Germany

Audible Studies, audio rights