Skip to content

“American War” a Finalist for Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize

A massive congratulations to Omar El Akkad who has been named a finalist for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize for his novel American War! 141 titles were considered by authors Tracey Lindberg, Christy Ann Conlin, and Michael Christie, who comprised the jury. The winner will be announced on November 14.


“Company Town” Named Winner of 2017 Copper Cylinder Award

Congratulations to Madeline Ashby! She has been named the winner of the Sunburst Award Society’s 2017 Copper Cylinder Adult Award for her novel Company Town. This members’ choice accolade recognizes excellent Canadian literature of the fantastic.

Sam Wiebe’s “Invisible Dead” a Finalist for the 2017 City of Vancouver Book Award

Congratulations to Sam Wiebe! His novel Invisible Dead has been named one of four finalists for this year’s City of Vancouver Book Award. The winner will be announced at the Mayors’ Arts Awards ceremony on October 11.

“I Hear She’s a Real Bitch” a Finalist for the 2017 Toronto Book Awards

Congratulations to Jen Agg! I Hear She’s a Real Bitch has been announced as a finalist for the 2017 Toronto Book Awards. The winner will be announced on October 12, 2017 at the Toronto Reference Library.

A Disappearance in Damascus: Finalist for the Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize

The West Coast Book Prize Society has just announced the finalists for the 2017 BC Book Prizes, and A Disappearance in Damascus is a finalist for the Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize! Congratulations to Deborah Campbell!

Deborah Campbell Wins Freedom to Read Award

The Writers’ Union of Canada announced that Deborah Campbell, journalist and author, is the recipient of the 2017 Freedom to Read Award. The award is presented annually by TWUC in recognition of work that is passionately supportive of free expression. Past recipients include Mohamed Fahmy, Janine Fuller, and Lawrence Hill.

Deborah Campbell wins Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust non-fiction prize

Congratulations to Deborah Campbell! A Disappearance in Damascus: A Story of Friendship and Survival in the Shadow of War took home the prestigious Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust prize for non-fiction.


1 2 7
%d bloggers like this: