Skip to content

Photo credit: Rogatien Piano

Michael Winter is the author of The Architects Are Here, which was longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, and The Big Why, a novel based on the artist Rockwell Kent, who fled to Newfoundland from New York in 1914. It was longlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin award, and shortlisted for Trillium Book Award and the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award. His first novel, This All Happened, won the Winterset Award. He is also the recipient of the Writers’ Trust Notable Author Award.


Michael’s Books:

Into the Blizzard: Walking the Fields of the Newfoundland Dead

Winter_Into the Blizzard

Doubleday Canada, November 2014

  • A Globe and Mail Best Book of the Year 2014
  • A CBC Best Book of 2014
Minister Without Portfolio

Winter_Minister Without Portfolio

Penguin Canada, World, Fall 2013

Pintail, US, Fall 2013

  • Longlisted for the 2013 Giller Prize
  • Shortlisted for CBC Canada Reads 2016
The Death of Donna Whalen

Winter_The Death of Donna Whalen

Penguin Canada, Fall 2010

  • Finalist for the 2010 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize
  • A Quill & Quire Book of the Year 2010
  • Globe 100 Best Book 2010
  • Commonwealth Writers’ Prize nominee
  • Finalist for the 2011 Trillium Book Award for fiction
The Architects Are Here

Winter_The Architects Are Here

Penguin Canada, September 2007 (lead title)

  • Longlisted for the 2007 Scotiabank Giller Prize



The Big Why
Winter_The Big WhyHouse of Anansi Press, Canada, Fall 2004

Bloomsbury, US, January 2006

Rattling Books, audio edition, 2007

  • Shortlisted for the Trillium Book Award
  • Shortlisted for the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award
  • Longlisted for the International IMPAC Literary Award