Skip to content

Moore LisaLisa Moore’s first collection of short stories, Degrees of Nakedness, was published in 1995 (House of Anansi Press). In 2002, she publisher her second collection of short fiction, Open, which was shortlisted for the Giller Prize, shortlisted for the Winterset Award, and won the Canadian Authors Association Jubilee Award for Short Stories. Lisa Moore received her second Giller Prize nomination in 2005 for her first novel Alligator, which has been published in Britain, the US, France, Quebec, and Holland. Alligator was long-listed for the Orange Prize and won the Commonwealth Writers Prize (Canada/Caribbean region) in 2006. Lisa Moore also edited the acclaimed Penguin Book of Contemporary Short Stories by Canadian Women (2006). Her acclaimed novel February won CBC’s Canada Reads contest in 2013, and was a finalist for numerous literary prizes.

She lives with her family in St. John’s, Newfoundland.

Lisa’s Books:



House of Anansi Press, North America, June 2009

Chatto & Windus, UK

Grove/Atlantic, US

Plon, France with Boreal, Quebec

Meulenhoff, The Netherlands

Hanser, Germany

Bollati Boringhieri, Italy

Edicoes 451, Spain


One of the New Yorker’s Best Books of 2010

One of the Quill & Quire’s 15 Books that Mattered in 2009

Shortlisted for the 2010 Commonwealth Writes’ Prize

Finalist for the 2009 Winterset Prize

Longlisted for the 2010 Man Booker Prize

Longlisted for the 2010 ReLit Awards

Longlisted for the CBC Canada Reads Best Books of the Decade (2010)

Longlisted for the 2011 IMPAC Dublin Literary Award



House of Anansi Press, Canada, Fall 2005

Grove/Atlantic, U.S., Fall 2006

Virago, UK, Fall 2006

Les Editions du Boréal, Quebec and France, Fall 2006

Meulenhoff, The Netherlands, Fall 2006

Winner of the Commonwealth Prize for the Canada/Carribbean region

Shortlisted for the Giller Prize

Longlisted for the Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction



House of Anansi Press, Canada, 2002

Virago, UK, Spring 2007

Shortlisted for the Giller Prize

Shortlisted for the Winterset Award for Excellence in Newfoundland Writing