Skip to content

Richards David AdamsDavid Adams Richards, twice winner of the Governor General’s Award, co-winner of the Giller Prize and winner of the Matt Cohen Award, which recognizes a lifetime of distinguished work by a Canadian writer, is one of the country’s most compelling and original voices. In addition, many of his novels have been adapted to film. He has been compared to John Steinbeck, Thomas Hardy, and Dostoyevsky for the way in which he is able to deal with eternal themes of ambition, love, honour and betrayal. He is the recipient of the Order of Canada, and also the Order of New Brunswick, for services to literature. Website

David’s Books:

Principles To Live By

9780385682466_0Doubleday Canada, May 2016







Crimes Against My Brother

Richards_Crimes Against My Brother

Doubleday Canada, May 2014

Alliance/Atlantis Entertainment, Television Series Production, 2015


Globe and Mail Bestseller

Maclean’s Bestseller

One of NOW Magazine’s 10 Must-Reads for Spring 2014

Zoomer Irresistible Read for May

Facing the Hunter

Richards_Facing the Hunter

Doubleday Canada, October 2011

Longlisted for the Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction

Incidents in the Life of Markus Paul

Richards_Incidents in the Life of Markus Paul

Doubleday Canada, May 2011

Sandstone, UK


Winner of the Thomas Head Raddal Prize

Longlisted for the international IMPAC Dublin Literary Award

God Is: My Search for Faith in a Secular World

Richards_God Is

Doubleday, Canada, August 2009


Shortlisted for the Atlantic Independent Booksellers’ Choice Award

Extraordinary Canadians Series: Lord Beaverbrook

Richards_Extraordinary Canadians

Penguin, Canada, March 2008

The Lost Highway

Richards_The Lost Highway

Doubleday Canada, November 2007

MacAdam Cage, US, March 2008

A Globe and Mail Best Book of 2007

Governor General’s Literary Awards Finalist 2008

Longlisted for the Giller Prize

The Friends of Meager Fortune

Richards_Friends of Meager Fortune

Doubleday Canada, Fall 2006

MacAdam/Cage, US, Spring 2007

Cape, UK, Spring 2007

National Bestseller

Winner of the 2007 Commonwealth Writers Prize (Canada/Caribbean Region)

A Globe and Mail Best Book of 2006

Longlisted for the 2006 Scotiabank Giller Prize

River of the Brokenhearted

Richards_River of the Brokenhearted

Doubleday Canada, Canada, September 2003

Arcade, US, Spring 2004

Cape, UK, Spring 2004

Chongqing in China

W.A.B. Publishing House, Poland

National Bestseller

Mercy Among the Children

Richards_Mercy Among the Children

Doubleday Canada, Fall 2001

Arcade Publishing, US, Fall 2002

Cape, UK, Fall 2002

De Geus, Dutch, Spring 2003

Serpent a Plumes, France, Fall 2003

S. Fischer Verlag Germany, Fall 2006

Difel Difusao Editorial SA, Portugal, Spring 2003

WAB, Poland

Chongqing Publishing House, China, Spring 2004

Co-winner of the Giller Prize (together with Michael Ondaatje’s Anil’s Ghost)

Winner of the CBA Libris award for novel of the year

Winner of the CBA Libris award for author of the year

Shortlisted for the Governor General’s Award

Shortlisted for the Trillium Award

Shortlisted for the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Prize